School of Pedagogical Sciences

Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav celebrations

Report



Programme Schedule

Compering	- Ms
Rapporteur	- Ms
Prayer	- SP
Welcome	- Dr
Presidential Address	- P
Introduction of Resource Person	- Ms

- s. Divya Martin (Ph.D.) (Student Coordinator)
- ls. Neelanjana G.(M.Ed. 2021-'23)
- PS Choir
 - r. Smitha S., Assistant Professor (Programme Convener)
 - rof. (Dr.) Minikutty A., Head of the Department s. Jain Ann Chacko (M.Ed. 2021-'23)

Inauguration & Resource Talk - Dr. T. C. THANKACHAN

Felicitations-

- 1. Prof. (Dr.) Jaya Jaise, Former HoD & Dean, Faculty of Education
- 2. Prof. (Dr.) Asha J. V., Dean, Faculty of Education
- 3. Dr. Ismail Thamarasseri, Assistant Professor
- 4. Dr. Sibu G. Netto, Assistant Professor
- 5. Dr. Muhammed K. V., Assistant Professor
- 6. Sri. Satheesh Kumar J., Administrative Officer, SPS
- 7. Ms. Jeeva S. Kumar, Students' Union Representative, MGU
- 8. Ms. Reshma Lal (Dy. Leader, M.Ed. 2020-'22 Batch)

Vote of Thanks- Mr. Bijo Mathew (M.Ed. 2021-'23)

12.30- Cultural Activities (Research Scholars & M.Ed. Students) National Anthem- SPS Choir

In 1947 when the British Empire left India they said, "This independence and the democracy may not last for more than 60 years." And yet here we are, celebrating our 75th Independence Day. This year India has celebrated its Independence as 'Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav' in which we are keeping our history and culture as the coping stones and giving more focus on our future. So this Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav lights up on India's achievements in the past 75 years while focusing on the development in the coming years. The initiative marks goals to be achieved by 2047 when India will complete 100 years of its Independence.

The celebration of 'Azadi Ka Amrith mahotsav' at School of Pedagogical Sciences, Mahatma Gandhi University was held on 29th August 2022, Monday at 11.00 am. The programme was started with an auspicious prayer song by the SPS choir team. The welcome address was delivered by the programme convener, Assistant Professor, Dr, Smitha S. In her speech, she stressed the point of equating 'freedom' with 'responsibility'. The presidential address was delivered by Prof. (Dr.) Minikutty A (Head of the Department, School of Pedagogical Sciences.). Madam reminded us the significance of 'duties/responsibility' along with 'Rights'. Ms. Jain Ann Chacko 2021- 2023 M. Ed student gave a brief introduction of the resource person Dr. T. C. Thankachan. Dr. T. C. Thankachan, Professor and Principal at St. Thomas College of Teacher Education, Pala has 21 years of teaching experience at the teacher education levels and authored 25 books, published 22 chapters in edited books, 91 articles in national and international journals, 42 papers in national and international proceedings and 26 documents and reports. Moreover he is a member of many board of studies and editorial board member of many national and international journals. The introduction of the chief guest was preceded by the inauguration by lightening the lamp and the resource talk by Dr. T. C. Thankachan.

Dr. T. C. Thankachan gave definition of independence by three levels, ie, before 1947, up to 2022, and thereafter; which indicates what we were, and what we now and what we will be respectively. India was never been a state of armada but it was a nation of brains. We won our independences not because of the fight but because of the brain we used. Enthusiasm was our weapon. After independence we got a new weapon, a weapon to bind the nation together; ie, our constitution and our democracy. Dr. Thankachan proclaimed that as teachers we do have a job to protect our history which is firmly bounded in our constitution. India has some values some discipline than it may not break at any circumstances. That's why we cannot find any trace of attacks lead by India to any other nations. Because India

respect and values every one's freedom and its manta is 'Loka samasta sukhino bhavanthu'. With a concluding note he added 'in this present day we don't need a political freedom but a social and individual freedom.'

Resource talk was followed by felicitation addresses by prof. (Dr.) jaya jaise, (Formar HoD and Deen, Faculty of Education), Prof. (Dr.) Asha J V (Professor and Dean, Faculty of Education), Dr. Ismail Thamarasseri (Assistant Professor), Dr. Sibu G Netto (Assistant Professor), Dr. Muhammed K V (Assistant Professor), Sri. Satheesh Kumar J (Administative Officer, SPS), Ms. Jeeva S Kumar (Students' Union Representative), Ms. Reshma Lal (Dy. Leader, M. Ed 2020-'22 Batch). Vote of thanks was delivered by Mr. Bijo Mathew, 2021-'23 M. Ed batch student. After the inaugural function there were some cultural events by the students and faculties. The 2021- 22 students dressed up to represent the different states in India and made procession starting from SPS to the administrative block and to the main gate.

The function was concluded with the national anthem by the SPS choir team.







Long 76.530636° 29/08/22 12:06 PM

Google











































